top of page

What my rejuvenation process of depression made me realize about friendships. 𝑃𝑎𝑟𝑡 1



Introduction

Depression is a serious mental illness, but it's also something that can be overcome with the right support. I've been through many years of depression and I'm finally learning how to manage it better than ever before.


It's been one of the most challenging things that I've ever gone through in my life, but it has made me realize things about myself and other people that have been missing from my life for so long. Here are some important lessons learned:

The process of becoming more honest with myself after many years of depression made me realize things I had been missing all along.

When you're depressed, it's hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel.


However, when you are able to start seeing things clearly and accepting them as they are, your life will be much more fulfilling. You might feel like you are being judged by others who don't understand what depression is like for those who live with it every day.


You may also feel like they pity you or ignore you because they think that if everything went well with their lives then there would be no reason why anyone could possibly need help or therapy! It's important not to get caught up in these emotions because they can cause more harm than good (and sometimes even lead people down paths of self-harm). But remember: Those people around us need our support just as much as we do!


Depression can make you feel like you're not yourself. You might even feel like a fraud.

Depression can make you feel like you're not yourself. You might even feel like a fraud.


Depression often causes people to think that their friends don't really know them, and they may feel like they're not worthy of the friendships they have or need—or that their friends could do better without them in their lives. They might also wonder if their depression is causing problems for those around them, especially if it makes them appear selfish or distant from others in some way (for example: “Why should I care about anyone else when I'm so unhappy?”).


This is why it's important for people with depression to remember that no one else knows what's going on inside our heads—and even though we may look down at ourselves sometimes, this doesn't mean we are worthless or unlovable!


Many people would tell me to just "get over it." But how could I get over something that I didn't fully understand?

Depression is a serious illness, and it's not something that can be "got over." It requires treatment. But many people would tell me to just "get over it." But how could I get over something that I didn't fully understand?


Fortunately, my depression had a positive impact on my life and made me realize how important friendships are.

It's hard to stay angry when people are trying to help you.

I've been on the receiving end of this dynamic, and it's one that I'm still trying to wrap my head around. It's not easy for me to stay angry at people who are trying to help you through depression—and it shouldn't be! If someone is willing and able to listen, then they should be given time, patience and support. If they aren't willing or able? Then there's nothing wrong with cutting ties with them altogether (or even better: calling them out on their bullshit).

People change based on circumstances—and if someone isn't willing or able to change how they treat others so that you can feel better about yourself? That person needs some serious reevaluation.

It's okay to cut ties with people who don't support your growth and recovery from depression.

You can't control who will support you and who won't, but you can control how much of your energy you give to those people. You should be honest with them about how much time and energy they take up, so that they know when it's not worth the effort.


It's okay to cut ties with people who don't support your growth and recovery from depression. It doesn't mean that they don’t care about what happened in your life; it just means that their behavior doesn’t line up with how we want our relationships to be—and maybe even more importantly, theirs doesn't line up with what we need our relationships to be for ourselves right now!

What's important is learning from your experiences, maintaining healthy friendships, and eliminating the toxic ones.

It's important to have a support system, because I'm sure we all know that depression is no joke. It can be isolating and lonely, but having friends who will listen and talk to you is invaluable. You don't have to tell them everything about your situation or how it affects your life; just letting them know when something has happened might help them understand what's going on.


It's also important for people with mental health issues like me not only seek treatment but also maintain healthy friendships so that we can continue living our lives as normally as possible while still being aware of any warning signs before they become too severe (like suicidal thoughts).


If anything were happening within the group of friends I had then we'd definitely have known something had changed—but even if there weren't any obvious changes in behavior or attitude toward one another then there could still be signs lurking somewhere around them! For example: Does one person stop talking altogether? Do others start ignoring each other completely? Do certain members start becoming more distant than usual? All these things would indicate something isn't right between those people which makes me think maybe they should seek professional help instead so they can get back on track again without worrying about hurting anyone else along their journey towards recovery."

Conclusion

I now appreciate the people in my life for who they are and how much we have to offer each other. I don't trust easily, but I think that's because I've had so many bad experiences with people in the past. But by working on myself and healing from depression, these relationships can develop into something truly special in your life.






Comments


bottom of page